The magical mystery land of community health

I don't make this stuff up!…but I do change identifying information.

Cute. March 17, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — lesbonurse @ 2:30 am

This week I had an initial visit with my youngest transgender (ftm) patient ever.  At just a smidgen past 18 years old he’s still in high school, but apparently he is out to most people at his school and is even working on getting his preferred (not yet legal) name on his diploma.  He came to the visit with his mother, who was sweet and supportive.  During our conversation about what needs to be done prior to starting hormones, he expressed fear about the needle stick for the blood tests.  “Man up!” said his mother, “It’s just a blood test.”  The patient turned to me, rolled his eyes and said “She loves to say that to me now.”  Ha.  Sweet family…if only all of my transgender patients had that much support.   After all of the dysfunction that I see every day, it was really nice to be reminded that sometimes family can be a patient’s biggest–and best– support system.

 

3 Responses to “Cute.”

  1. Aimee Says:

    Ha! That’s wonderful. He’s very lucky to have such an awesome mom 🙂

  2. Colleen Says:

    LesboNurse, mar 31 issue of the New Eng Jour of Med has an article on the care of transgender persons– wondering if you read it and what your thoughts are?

    • lesbonurse Says:

      I did skim it, and my main impression was that the author was adhering strictly to the Harry Benjamin Standards of Care. In the first section it seemed like the author was saying that people should do the real life experience BEFORE they start hormones, which I don’t think is reasonable in many circumstances. However, I do like the fact that there are more articles addressing guidelines for care…hopefully that will encourage more providers to provide care.


Leave a Reply

