The magical mystery land of community health

I don't make this stuff up!…but I do change identifying information.

Geez, that was fast January 7, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — lesbonurse @ 3:37 pm

Wow, it’s been 10 weeks since my daughter was born, and next week I go back to work.  How did that happen?  While part of me has missed work, part of me is less-than-thrilled to go back.  I can’t say I’ve been longing to see the words “Low Back Pain” on my schedule again.  Sigh.  The baby is doing great, and she’s going to an awesome daycare, so I’m not too worried about leaving her…but I will miss her and my (relatively) leisurely days of all-baby-all-the-time.

BUT there is a good note for me to come in on…I was reviewing some of my work emails from home, when I came upon this sentence in a neurology consult note: “The patient is a lovely 55-year old lady who is here with a complaint of headaches.”  There are a few remarkable things about this sentence: 1) the patient is a pre-op transsexual who has not changed her name or gender yet, and does not pass as female in her everyday life.  2) The author of the note was a resident in the neurology clinic.  3) The author of the note is a resident who came to our hospital from a predominately Muslim country, and although I can’t speculate on what his life has been like, I would guess that he does not have a lot of prior trans-health experience.  Good job, nice young man!  I attribute this little bit of sensitivity to a recent lecture that my collaborating physician gave at grand rounds.  Given that my clinic is affiliated with a teaching hospital, my doc decided that we should not only train the clinic staff, but the hospital residents as well (we had a transgender 101 training for clinic staff last year).  She asked me for some behind-the-scenes help, and then presented a very nice powerpoint on trans health basics.  And behold…results!  It’s kind of exciting to see how much everyone has made an effort once they received a little bit of training.

 

Leave a Reply

