The magical mystery land of community health

I don't make this stuff up!…but I do change identifying information.

Healthy choices: way to go, Self September 2, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — lesbonurse @ 12:26 am

File this under: “Healthy Choices Are Hard to Make Sometimes”

This afternoon I was  hungry.  Like, ravenously, 3rd-trimester-of-pregnancy hungry.  The protein bar I had packed in my lunch bag seemed boring and unappealing.  I decided I would get a snack from the office vending machine.  The last time I bought something from the machine, they had fruit snacks (you know, those squishy fruit-shaped jelly things).  Fruit snacks aren’t the healthiest snack ever, but they’re not SO bad.  Unfortunately, the fruit snacks were gone.  I stood in front of the vending machine debating the choices: Sun Chips?  Granola bar?  Fiber bar?  Potato chips?  You know what I chose?  A Moon Pie!  A Moon Pie. Possibly the least healthy option in the entire vending machine.  It just looked so…delicious.  The sad part about this choice is that I know that a Moon Pie is like eating a piece of crap coated with fake chocolate.  I’m a pregnant healthcare provider, for god’s sake!  If anyone should be making a nutritious food choice, it should be me.  Yet I felt powerless to make a healthier choice.  It’s a good reminder that education doesn’t always equal the right choices.  Sigh.

 

2 Responses to “Healthy choices: way to go, Self”

  1. NP2B Says:

    Your posts crack me up! Being that I am also in my 3rd trimester, I can relate… I recently had a completely out-of-character rendezvous with a vending machine. The result? Oreo cookies. And of course I was not satisfied with just one package, I had to get two.

    Cheers to you and your Moon Pie!

  2. Kathy Says:

    You’re allowed a moon pie once in a while. They are delicious, even though they have no nutritional value.


Leave a Reply

