The magical mystery land of community health

I don't make this stuff up!…but I do change identifying information.

Back Home June 7, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — lesbonurse @ 2:59 am

Just got back from the annual Trans Health Conference in Philadelphia.  Just like in previous years, the content was interesting, the youth attendees were adorable and I really, really needed the break from work.  This year was made slightly more uncomfortable by the fact that I am 5 months pregnant and no longer enjoying sitting in a straight-backed chair for 8 hours a day.  Although on second thought, I have never really enjoyed sitting in a chair for 8 hours at a stretch under any circumstances.  That’s part of the reason why I entered a career that requires me to walk briskly in circles around a clinic for 8-10 hours a day.

I’m a little too tired to write much, but I wanted to post an update on my patient with post-partum psychosis.  She was taken to the ER by ambulance, where she was evaluated and then placed on a 72-hour hold.  They started her on medication and discharged her at the end of the 3 days.  Per the discharge summary, she was no longer feeling suicidal and the voices were starting to go away.  I haven’t seen her since, but I am hopeful that she’s staying on her meds and feeling a little more like herself.

 

Leave a Reply

