The magical mystery land of community health

I don't make this stuff up!…but I do change identifying information.

Sex Ed April 2, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — lesbonurse @ 2:00 am

My previous post about the patient who didn’t believe she would get pregnant from unprotected sex garnered comments along the lines of “how could she think that?”  It got me thinking about another recent visit.  My patient was a single mother with 2 daughters.  During a routine visit, we were chatting about her kids when she told me that her oldest daughter had gotten her period for the first time.  After a few moments of “Oh my gosh, they grow up so fast” comments, I asked “So, did you talk to her about what this means?”  My patient said “Oh sure, I told her that it means she’s growing up and turning into a woman.”  My next question was “Did you tell her that she can get pregnant now?”  My patient’s answer was, sadly, typical: “Well, I don’t know what to say to her about that.  My mother never talked to me about this stuff.”  Then she asked me what she should say.  I tried to explain the basics of the menstrual cycle and female fertility, in language that she could use with a 12 year-old.  I told her my opinion, which is: knowing that having a period is part of how a woman gets pregnant is really important for adolescent girls.  And knowing that sex is connected to pregnancy is also really important.  After giving the patient my sex ed talk, I ran down the hall to the pediatric clinic to find some pamphlets on puberty or sex.  To my surprise, I found…nothing.  Really, pediatrics?  No information on the menstrual cycle?  No age-appropriate information on sex?  I even asked one of the doctors if they had something hiding in the back of a file cabinet somewhere, but was told that they had no written information on the topic.  Well, I’ll be damned.  No wonder these conversations are hard for parents to have.

 

4 Responses to “Sex Ed”

  1. shoutabyss Says:

    The no pamphlet thing really is a quite stunning observation on your part. That is just nuts. We consider ourselves modern and enlightened but our superstitions our still strongly with us.

  2. samantham90 Says:

    That’s very surprising. I’m fairly young and still in college and still go to my pediatrician (don’t want to have to get to know another doctor just yet) and I’ve never noticed any pamphlets around there either.

  3. Alicia Says:

    My big sex talk with my mom was her showing me two rabbits mating and then her nervously babbling about random birds & bees stuff. I intend to teach our girl the real names for everything and have a frank, open talk with her about sex. Of course, she’s 7 months old so that will be awhile. 🙂

    Also, I’ve never seen my mom so red-faced as when I asked her what it meant that the male rabbit was now humping the female’s face. lol Oral sex was NOT part of her discussion.

  4. c Says:

    One of my coworkers was telling me about a G12P12 she had taken care of; she’d asked her if she was planning on having more children (after having 12 children in 12 years and the woman, a gypsy who had never gone to school, said: “No. Because now I know how babies are made.” I find the story suspect because it seems like that’s not all that Secret in any community of women, but the point is well made.


Leave a Reply

