The magical mystery land of community health

I don't make this stuff up!…but I do change identifying information.

Who Knew? January 31, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — lesbonurse @ 9:22 pm

One of the things I love about my job is that I am continually learning new and interesting things.  For example, did you know that a traumatic injury to the testicle can lead to the testicle disappearing?  Indeed.  I recently had a patient who had only one testicle on exam.  He explained that he had a traumatic blow to the ‘nads as a kid, but was too embarrassed to tell anyone.  When the swelling went down, one of his testicles was gone, never to reappear again.  After an ultrasound confirmed that the testicle was indeed gone, not just undescended, I put in a call to Urology.  The urologist confirmed that it is possible to kill off your testicle, and then it will necrose and shrivel until there is only the teeniest trace of the tissue left in the seemingly empty sack.  Well, I’ll be damned.

The second thing I learned this week is that it is possible to pop (ok, the medical term is ‘rupture’) your bladder in a traumatic accident.  Apparently the chances are greatest if your bladder is very full and then you take a hit to the abdomen, for example in a car accident.  I had a patient who had just such a situation.  After open abdominal surgery, her bladder was repaired and she had to have an indwelling catheter for more than a month.  Yikes.  Apparently I missed the memo about traumatic bladder rupture, because when I told my co-workers about this case, two of them said “Oh yeah, that’s why mom always said to empty your bladder before you get in the car.”  Huh.  My mom never said that.  I could have ruptured my bladder!

But now I know: don’t get in a car accident with a full bladder.  And if someone smashes you in the ‘nads, tell someone, or else you might not see that testicle again.  Good to know.

 

4 Responses to “Who Knew?”

  1. aap Says:

    duly noted. thank you for the service.

  2. Carolyn Says:

    Whoa. Two things I’ve always taken for granted…er…I guess that would be one thing. But really–>they disappear? How many other times in life can you ignore a problem and have it really go away?? 😉

  3. WOW!!! I learned two new vital things today…WOW, very interesting, I must say…thanks for sharing and hey my mom never told me that either…gotta go empty my bladder since I am about to go out.

    WOW, again, and again WOW!!!

  4. Sadia Says:

    I knew about the bladder thing, having been in labour on a full bladder. (The admitting hospital placed the urinary catheter in my uterus by mistake, and it wasn’t caught until I got to the hospital with the NICU.) The doctors were amazed both that my bladder hadn’t ruptured and by my bladder control, contracting for hours with a full bladder!

    However, I’d never heard that as the reason for emptying your bladder before getting in the car before.

    (P.S. Thanks for commenting. Your sister has had so many wonderful things to say about you, and it’s lovely to finally meet you, even if it is in cyberspace.)


Leave a Reply

