The magical mystery land of community health

I don't make this stuff up!…but I do change identifying information.

Gotta love adolescents December 7, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — lesbonurse @ 2:49 pm

Sometimes I miss working with adolescents.  When you work with them–as I did with a new, 18-year old patient last week–they say the most delightful things.  Like this: “So I have a question…if you have anal sex, does it still pop your cherry?”

And also this: “Um, I was wondering, when I had sex for the first time, it didn’t hurt and I didn’t bleed.  Is there something wrong with me?”

Bless her little heart.  Those comments gave me the perfect segue into discussing the STD risks of anal sex, along with the concept of the intact hymen as the basis for virginity.  (And in case anyone is wondering about my response to the cherry-popping question, I said “Good question.  If you’re asking if having anal sex will break your hymen and make you not a virgin in your vagina, then the answer is no.  But it is possible to pop someone’s cherry during anal sex, if you’re using that to describe having sex for the first time.  And if you’re asking me if I think that anal sex is really sex, then the answer is yes.  Anal sex is real sex.”)

 

2 Responses to “Gotta love adolescents”

  1. Samantha Says:

    You must be a great NP for your patient to feel so comfortable to ask you those questions. I’m 19 and have been with my doctor since I was a little girl and would still probably not have the courage to ask her those questions.

  2. k. emvee Says:

    I can’t tell you how much I love answering questions like this. It’s really a joy to me to waylay some of the misinformation out there – and I love the creative questions teens come up with and the art of knowing what the _real_ question is behind the words they actually asked.

    And Samantha is absolutely right – thanks for being such a great and accessible health care provider for those who need you. And great job to your patient for having the courage to ask those types of questions.


Leave a Reply

