The magical mystery land of community health

I don't make this stuff up!…but I do change identifying information.

Furious like me November 10, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — lesbonurse @ 2:35 pm

Yesterday I saw a patient that is always angry about something.  You probably know the type.  The cholesterol medication “almost killed me” with its GI side effects.  The topical steroid cream “didn’t help this rash that is killing me.”  Her PCP “doesn’t help me” and usually “nobody here cares.”

During the visit we were discussing her lower extremity edema.  As I informed her (in Spanish) that I would be prescribing some furosemide for the swelling, she looked delighted and asked me to repeat the name of the medication.  “Furosemide?  Haha!  Furiosa, como mi! (it’s furious, like me!)”  Hey, at least she has a sense of humor about it.

 

Leave a Reply

