The magical mystery land of community health

I don't make this stuff up!…but I do change identifying information.

Continuing education, I luv you October 5, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — lesbonurse @ 3:11 am

I took a few days off of work for one of my favorite professional diversions–a conference! I’m kind of a conference whore, I guess. In an average year I attend about 3 conferences, and this year the total is going to be 6 (3 as an attendee, 3 as a speaker). I love learning new things. I also love the associated perks–traveling to another city, excused absences from work, schmoozing with other healthcare providers, being reimbursed for the expenses out of my continuing education account…how could it be better? Ok, maybe if my expense account were a little bigger–then I could have gone to the WPATH (World Professional Association of Transgender Health) conference in Oslo, Norway. But apparently a gal in the community health field can’t have everything.

This week I attended the Gay and Lesbian Medical Association (GLMA) annual conference in Washington DC. As proof of my status as both a health nerd and a big homo, I spent the days saying things like “Ooh, I’m so bummed that I’m going to miss the anal health update!” and “Oh goody, a session on syphillis!” without a hint of sarcasm.  It’s great to be around people who actually care about things like “older lesbians and cancer”. And the GLBTQ med students are adorable.

Here’s a continuing education haiku:

Thrills me to no end

listening to lectures and

missing two days work!

 

Leave a Reply

