The magical mystery land of community health

I don't make this stuff up!…but I do change identifying information.

I think I know what the problem is… June 19, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — lesbonurse @ 1:28 am

Patient: I’m so tired all the time. I just feel so lazy, like I don’t want to do anything. All I want to do is sleep. I could sleep all day.

Me: How many hours do you sleep a night?

Patient: About 7

Me: Tell me about what you do before you go to bed.

Patient: Well, I smoke a joint before bed. Then I lay down and go to sleep.

Me: Do you smoke every night before bed?

Patient: Sure do. I smoke all day long.

Me: Like how many times a day?

Patient: Like 3 or 4.

Me: 3 or 4 times every day?

Patient: Yep.

Me: Well, that’s probably causing your lazy feeling. Being tired and unmotivated is a side effect of marijuana use.

Patient: I don’t think so. Maybe I have diabetes.

Me: Well, that could be true too, but I think the marijuana is playing a part.

Patient (doubtfully): maybe…

 

2 Responses to “I think I know what the problem is…”

  1. Sarah Says:

    A “side effect” ? What is considered the main effect if being totally relaxed and unmotivated is the side effect?

  2. knifemouth Says:

    Y’know, I’ve smoked a lot of that wacky stuff. It may have been a huge part of ‘getting through K-12 without killing myself’ though I certainly wish in retrospect that I’d had a better option. Options. A support system, if you really want me to push my luck / be a dreamer.

    I also smoked a daily pinch of that stuff (a couple of years ago) as ‘medical marijuana’ – my regular doc recommended it, the docs at the pain clinic recommended it as did my physical therapist. (But they all sent me to someone else for the scrip: Doctors! Ye doth suck, yonder cowards. *not all) Dint matter cause, bottom line? That stuff makes me stupid as a ROCK. A rock with a reallly low IQ.

    I repeatedly tell my niece and nephew: if you simply have to get into that stuff, please do it AFTER you’ve secured a 2 to 4 year degree from college. Or a trade. But not before. Please.

    Dumb. As. A. Rock.

    I know about 2 people that do not suffer this side effect. Out of hundreds. This cautionary tale for young people everywhere: you old people can go to hell. You’re on your own at your age. Cripes.


Leave a Reply

