The magical mystery land of community health

I don't make this stuff up!…but I do change identifying information.

Top 10 Reasons to Practice in a Boring Area December 19, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — lesbonurse @ 3:06 am

Despite the family stress, my recent trip left me homesick for the big cities of the opposite coast. At times, my decision to do idealistic work in an underserved, crumbling city seems like the nail in a coffin labeled “BORING.” To cheer myself up, I’ve been compiling a list of the top reasons to practice health care in an economically depressed, small city.

  1. Traffic moves along at 60mph during “rush hour” on the freeway
  2. I get to be known as a sassy dresser, by virtue of wearing clothes I didn’t buy at the local mall
  3. Never have to parallel park in a tight space again!
  4. Don’t worry about hitting someone or something backing out of your driveway–there’s never any traffic on your street
  5. There’s still beauty to be found in the rolling hills and old farms outside of the city
  6. Apples…lots of local apples in the Fall
  7. I get to be the crazy, out-of-the-closet queer in the office!
  8. 2-bedroom house with large yard for rock bottom price!
  9. Local airport check-in time: 15 minutes from ticket counter to gate
  10. Lots of patient appreciation
 

2 Responses to “Top 10 Reasons to Practice in a Boring Area”

  1. jessica Says:

    [your state] has freeways?

  2. amy Says:

    Plus, a place to plant tomatoes and peppers… and so very close to Six Flags:)


Leave a Reply

