The magical mystery land of community health

I don't make this stuff up!…but I do change identifying information.

Another installment of the Totally Inappropriate Comment December 4, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — lesbonurse @ 12:29 am
  • The scene: me, beginning to do a digital rectal exam. Me: “Now, this isn’t very comfortable but it shouldn’t be painful.” (sliding finger into patient’s rectum) Patient: “Actually, it feels good.” Actual comment: “Ummm…it should feel clinical.” Totally Inappropriate Comment: “EEEEWWWW! Eeeww eeww eeww! Finishing now! Ew!”
  • Mentally ill patient that I see frequently for multiple health problems: “You’re my best friend. You’re the only person I can talk to.” Actual comment: silent, empathetic eye contact–no comment. TIC: “Please don’t say that. It makes me feel sorry for you and also makes me want to back out of the room slowly.”
  • Patient with chronic itchy skin (and bad body odor), who was only bathing once a week: “Since I’ve been taking a bath every night, my skin feels so much softer!” Actual comment: “That’s great! It looks good!” TIC: “You don’t say? Who would have thought?”
 

2 Responses to “Another installment of the Totally Inappropriate Comment”

  1. Laura Says:

    all i want for x-mas is a rectal exam.

  2. dregina Says:

    You know, Cristian had the EXACT SAME REACTION when he started bathing regularly. Just sayin.


Leave a Reply

