The magical mystery land of community health

I don't make this stuff up!…but I do change identifying information.

Cheesy language, heal thyself! July 21, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — lesbonurse @ 1:28 am

I am many things: an educator, a paper pusher, an underpaid community health worker.  Do you know what I am not?  A “healer.”  To be honest, I don’t like it when members of traditional Western medical pracice dub themselves healers.  I like to think of myself as a straight talker.  I don’t like to sugarcoat my life with cutesy language (another example of what I am not?  A “dog mommy”)  I understand why people in the health care professions might want to proclaim themselves healers.  It sounds much more holistic and touchy-feely than, “I’m a nurse who spends my days saying the same thing over and over again to people who may not remember anything.”  Or, “I’m a NP who dispenses blood pressure medicines and pain pills in hopes of prolonging people’s lives for a few more sickly years.”  Yeah, ‘healing’ sounds a lot better than ‘trying to empty the ocean with a spoon.’  But I’m not sure how much healing I really do in the course of a day.  Sure, there are a few things here and there that I can actually cure–for example, I do a great job of healing chlamydia.  But most of what I do doesn’t result in healing per se.  I do a lot of listening, which arguably can result in a slow kind of healing.  And I do a lot of teaching, which possibly could lead to healing if people take my advice to heart.  But a “healer”?  I’m not so sure.

 

2 Responses to “Cheesy language, heal thyself!”

  1. aap Says:

    best-coyote-woman-friend, do not doubt yourself. i feel the blue light radiating from your heart chakra all the way to the central time zone.

  2. lc Says:

    when i see you next i am going to heal your aura with sage, rosemary, charged salt water and the love of gaia which flows through my very fingertips…and i dont even have a nursing degree!


Leave a Reply

