The magical mystery land of community health

I don't make this stuff up!…but I do change identifying information.

Meltiiiiiing… June 10, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — lesbonurse @ 1:27 am

Those of you who live on the East Coast are feeling what I’m feeling right now…which is fatigue and a heat rash.  It is stunningly, horribly and stickily hot.  On the up side, almost all of my patients canceled their appointments so they could melt in their homes.  On the down side, I got almost nothing done, despite my hours of free time spent at my desk.  You see, over the weekend the cooling unit of our large building had some kind of a breakdown, and no one knew about it until the staff started to come in this morning.  That was when we discovered that the ambient air temperature inside was only slightly lower than the outside temp of 100 degrees.  Though I had planned ahead by wearing a sleeveless dress, the warm moist air seemed to sap any sliver of motivation that I had.  At the end of the day, I had seen a grand total of 4 patients, completed 6 progress notes from last Friday, and spent an excessive amount of time reading about seborrheic dermatitis on the internet.  Oh, and I spent about an hour chatting with various clinic personnel.  Yep, this is why they pay me the big bucks.

 

Leave a Reply

