The magical mystery land of community health

I don't make this stuff up!…but I do change identifying information.

Love me some benzos April 15, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — lesbonurse @ 1:02 am

I am noticing that one of my biggest challenges in mental health treatment is getting my patients to want to try anti-depressants instead of just benzodiazepines.  Yes, benzos are fast-acting, offer immediate relief from anxiety and have the added benefit of making someone feel pretty damn good for a little while.  Why would someone want to trade that for the orgasm-killing, disappointingly not noticeable short-term effects of an SSRI?  And the vague threat of physical dependence seems pretty unimportant to most of my patients, especially when compared to the daily desperation of their lives.  I spent a lot of time trying to explain to people why a benzodiazepine alone is not the optimal treatment for anxiety and depression.  And even after all the explanations, patients still say “But my Klonopin works for me.  Why do you want to put me on something else?”  Arrrgh.

 

One Response to “Love me some benzos”

  1. LB Says:

    2 words: side. effects.

    Seriously, I would give a leg to find an anti-depressant that doesn’t have side effects that destroy my quality of life. Yes, destroy.

    I can’t speak for your specific patients of course, but God knows I have tried so many of these damn pills, and they all suck so much. So, in that regard, I take my klonopin, and it (at least) keeps me from literally tearing out my hair and jumping off a bridge.

    *sigh


Leave a Reply

